From Commissioner to Rector/President

From Commissioner to Rector/President

Early on, Chulalongkorn University did not have a Rector/President; the position equivalent to the position of a Rector/President was “Commissioner,” and they were

Phraya Anukitwithul (Santhad Devahasdin Na Ayutthaya), the first Commissioner of Chulalongkorn University, who was in office from 1917 to 1925,

Phraya Pharotracha (M.L. Thosthis Isarasaena), the second Commissioner, who was in office from 1929 to 1931.

In 1935, there was a change in the structure of the University. The position of Commissioner was abolished when the new system was introduced. The University Council was established as the governing body and the highest administrative position became that of Rector/President, who would be chosen by the University Council and would remain in position according to the terms of office. Professor Dr. A.G. Ellis, an American, was the first Rector of Chulalongkorn University. He held office from October 21st, 1935 to November 24th, 1936. Professor Ellis was a scientist and a Professor in Medicine; he had formerly been the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine.

Professor Dr. A. G. Ellis, an American, who was the first Rector of Chulalongkorn University